Two Tango Etudes (After Piazzolla) (2011)

Instrumentation: Wind ensemble (Solo Flute; Solo Soprano Saxophone; Piccolo; 2 Flutes; Oboes; 2 Bassoons; 3 B-flat Clarinets; Bass Clarinet; 2 E-flat Alto Saxophones; B-flat Tenor Saxophone; E-flat Baritone Saxophone; 2 B-flat Trumpets; 4 Horns in F; 2 Trombones; Euphoniums; Tubas; Double Bass; Timpani; 5 Percussion; Piano)

Duration: 8'

Commissioned by: Duo Fujin


  1. Lento meditativo
  2. Molto marcato ed energico

Program Note: Two Tango Etudes (After Piazzolla) was premiered by Duo Fujin with the Samford University Wind Ensemble under the direction of Dr. Jim Smisek. The piece was commissioned for Duo Fujin's 2011 tour of the southeastern United States. Astor Piazzolla composed a set of six "tango etudes" simply for solo flute or solo violin. I selected two of these, added a saxophone line that complements the flute solo part, then finally arranged an accompaniment for wind ensemble to reinforce the duo. There are measures I left unaltered from Piazzolla's original yet other moments I departed and re-wrote the piece according to my creative fantasy. I believe Piazzolla would have been honored by my reworking and hope that fans of his music will find my rendering to be an appropriate and musical interpretation.   

Score Download: Click here to download the entire full score of Two Tango Etudes (After Piazzolla) free of charge (PDF)

Acquire Parts: Click here to go to the Contact page to inquire about receiving free parts for Two Tango Etudes (After Piazzolla)