Concerto (2002, revised 2011)

Instrumentation: Alto saxophone and string orchestra


Dedication: Lawrence Gwozdz


  1. Lento drammatico
  2. Burlesque
  3. Passacaglia (Andante misterioso)

Program Note: The Concerto for Alto Saxophone and String Orchestra was composed for and dedicated to Lawrence Gwozdz, the composer's saxophone professor at the University of Southern Mississippi. Completed in 2002, Gwozdz gave the premiere in 2004 with the Szczecin Philharmonic (Poland) under the baton of Zygmunt Rychert. The current version of the piece (2011) was revised after hearing performances of the concerto (both by the dedicatee and others) over the years. 

Score Download: Click here to download the entire full score of Concerto for Alto Saxophone and String Orchestra free of charge (PDF)

Purchase Parts: Click here to go to the Contact page to inquire about purchasing parts for Concerto