Marcus Jansen's painting Circuit Break

Circuit Break - a postlude after Marcus Jansen (2015)

Instrumentation: Piano solo


Dedication: Holly Roadfeldt

Movements: One movement

Program Note: Circuit Break was written at the request of Holly Roadfeldt as part of her "Preludes Project" and premiered by the dedicatee at the 2016 New Music Gathering at the Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore, Maryland. Intended to be a ferocious toccata curtain-closer, the brief composition is thusly subtitled a postlude. Inspired by Marcus Jansen's painting of the same name, Circuit Break fuses the breakneck piano stylings of Oscar Peterson with the thorny melodic gestures of Elliott Carter.

Score Download: Click here to download the entire score of Circuit Break free of charge (PDF)