Petite Suite


My Petite Suite (2003) for solo piano is getting a long-awaited revival by pianist Holly Roadfeldt in the spring of 2014. She will be performing it at a few venues: first, at Westminster College (New Wilmington, PA) on 29 April 2014 then at the Dana New Music Festival XXX at Youngstown State University (Youngstown, OH) on 1 May 2014. 

Check out her schedule by clicking here.

Many Ideas on Form

Forms shapes.jpg

This morning I saw a fantastic compendium of ideas regarding form in music, including input by composers such as Michel van der Aa, Louis Andriessen, David Lang, Kaija Saariaho, Nico Muhly, and Dan Visconti. Read all about it by clicking here.

As I continue to work on a large five-movement woodwind quintet, the issue of form is at the forefront of my imagination right now. Sometimes the universe provides multiple inspiring answers at once.

Gallery for Woodwind Quintet

I am very pleased to announce that I have been commissioned by Force Majeure Quintet to compose a large-scale woodwind quintet composition for their 2014 tour. As a woodwind player myself (and professed band nerd), I have long imagined writing a sizable piece for flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, and horn.

The title of the piece is "Gallery." There will be five movements, each featuring a different member of the ensemble and each inspired by a different painting.

Movement 1: Claude Monet - The Cliff Walk at Pourville (movement for bassoon)

Monet - Cliff walk.jpg

Movement 2: Gustav Klimt - Water Serpents II (movement for flute)

Klimt - Sea Serpents II.jpg

Movement 3: Roy Lichtenstein - Ohhh...Alright... (movement for horn)

Lichtenstein - Ohhh Alright.jpg

Movement 4: Marcus Jansen - Creeping Obstacles in Kansas (movement for oboe)

Marcus Jansen - Creeping Obstacles in Kansas.jpg

Movement 5: Piet Mondrian - Broadway Boogie Woogie (movement for clarinet)

Mondrian - Broadway Boogie Woogie.jpg

I look forward to all of the hard work that will go into this collaboration. Force Majeure Quintet will be performing at my institution, Mars Hill University, on March 17 2014 as part of their tour.

The Symphonies of Howard Hanson


If you're not acquainted with the seven symphonies by American composer Howard Hanson (28 Oct 1896 - 26 Feb 1981) here's your chance! Below is a YouTube playlist of all seven.

By the way, Hanson won the Pulitzer Prize in 1944 for Symphony No. 4.